This past June I got the opportunity to go out to Cape Cod and stay with some family at a house that was owned by some other family. Amy and I'd never been to the east coast, barring Florida, so I thought this would be a great chance to experience "New England", and since my family offered for us to stay there for free I thought it would be great. We took my sister with us, and made the 14 hour drive in 1 day (and night). It was worth it, I'm a big fan of just getting it over with when it comes to driving, Sugar Free Monster soda and Ginseng supplements are my friend.
We stayed for the better part of the week, and got to chill with the fam... it was cool to get away, cool to experience a part of America I'd never known much about. Martha's Vineyard is an island out there, and we took a Ferry out to it one day when the price was cheap. I'd never been on a ferry either, the particular one we were on was big enough to fit 35 cars, amongst all the people who were with us, complete with a snack and coffee bar.
Me playing cell phone games, chillin' in one of the quieter parts of the ferry (it was a 30 minute ride)
Jax (my sis) in red shorts, at a park on Martha's Vineyard. The houses face out on the inlet between Mass and Martha's Vineyard... amazing views
One of the sickest houses of the mansions surrounding the park. A shack, literally, on a 1/4 acre was listed for $895,000. I can only imagine what this spot would be.
Can you tell we're staring into the sun?
We also took a drive up the little arm of cape cod to the tip, Provincetown. It was really cool, the weather was cloudy/rainy and it was pretty cold, but we took time to hit up a couple of trails on the national seashore. It was pretty amazing, everything was older... lots of history in the whole area. I want to show some of the stuff we came across hiking and driving... just to document the stuff we came across :)
Starting out the day... Coffee was certainly a nice little boost. can you tell I'm tired?
Here's come cool pictures I took while we were driving - the last one is in Provincetown, which reminded me of what I would think cities in Europe are like - small streets, small houses, everything was jam packed and the building look like they'd been around for a while.
We hit up a spot close to us by the beach... when we came up there was a lady in her car with the radio blasting, and as we got closer I noticed she was painting the view. It was pretty cool, she smiled back... I didn't want to take a picture cause I felt like that would invade her privacy even more. Anyway - this boat was tied up in water that was ridiculously rough, waves bouncing up at least as high as the boat, with no oars inside it... I certainly wouldn't want to take the thing out on a pond, let alone the Atlantic.
These are the little yellow flowers which lined the trail in the above pic. I'm not much of an identifier, they were pretty though.
We randomly came upon this house when we were hiking, and we thought it was cool. As we cut through the yard, the front door was open and there was a sign that said "tours", so we went in. The house belonged to a whaler in the 1800s, and there was an older couple who had worked for the parks service and now volunteered giving tours of the house, and telling it's story - it was a mansion for it's time. The couple who gave the tours had taken the time to go through all the documents stored in the house, and the whaling captain's diary, and created a timeline of his adventures and family story.
The couple had 5 kids, and the captain would take his wife and 1 kid with him when he went out. His family would watch the other children while they were gone. The trips were 3-4 years long, and they traveled and lived in almost every coastal part of the world... I could only imagine spending my childhood traveling the world, living in foreign lands, pillaging and raiding!! Anyway, it was pretty cool.
Then we found the coast...

No comments:
Post a Comment